Skip to content

Treat Yourself This Earth Day

22 April 2009

Happy Earth Day from the Minnesota Energy Challenge! Remember, you don’t have to dread Earth Day – it’s easy for you to take simple, effective actions today that aren’t only good for the environment, but good for you.  Because, let’s face it.  What with the global economic crisis, a recession and plenty on our plates, it can be hard to think about adding anything else to our plates.  That’s the great thing about energy efficiency (as over 20,800 households on the Minnesota Energy Challenge will attest): it’s all about treating yourself.

I use compact fluorescent light bulbs to keep my energy bill down so I have more money to spend on fun things, like dinner out with my friends.  I drive the speed limit so my car will have a longer lifespan so I don’t have to worry as much about big expenses in the future.  I wash my clothes in cold water so they keep looking newer longer so I can feel confident in my appearance.  And everytime I do something energy efficient, like turning off my computer station powerstrip or taking the bus instead of driving, it makes me feel really goodI’m saving money AND doing something good for the environment AND it makes me happy!

So this Earth Day, take a load off. Plug that air leak that’s been bugging you and enjoy a warmer home.  Remind your kids to turn off the lights when they leave the room and feel proud when they take action.  Hang your clothes up to dry and give yourself a high-five – you deserve it.

(If you need any ideas, come take the Minnesota Energy Challenge and find your reward for work well done.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    22 April 2009 8:15 pm

    Great post! Reading it made me smile – not an easy thing during finals! Plus, I think it’s great to reconceptualize being green and doing “the right thing” as not burdensome but fun!

    Happy Earth Day!

Leave a Reply

