Skip to content

Green Shopping

6 December 2007

This holiday season I’m finding myself spending a lot of time trying to figure out some simple ecologically-minded gifts for my loved ones that will communicate both my appreciation for them and what they do for me and my desire to have a positive impact on the world.  To this end, I would be completely lost without TreeHugger’s 2007 Gift Guide.  With over 180 gift ideas in three shades of green, list of organizations to support and useful tips for a more efficient holiday, it’s a truly incredible resource.

My favorite find so far is Eco-Libris,  an organization which helps you plant a tree to replace the paper used to make your books.  They work with planting partners in developing countries to make sure that trees are planted in such a way that they both enrich the environment and provide value for local communities.  It costs around $1 per tree, which includes a sticker to put on a book that shows that a tree was planted for it.  As both a bibliophile and an environmentalist, I find this helplessly compelling.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

