Skip to content

HOURCAR: Stress-Free Car Sharing

5 March 2010

Car sharing has always made sense to me.  I’ve had friends use car sharing in other cities, but since I own a car I didn’t think that I would ever get a chance to try it out.

And then Minneapolis instituted winter parking restrictions.  Suddenly, taking my car to work so I could make afternoon meetings wasn’t the best option, since coming home after 5pm means driving in circles looking for a parking space – not to mention more wear-and-tear on my 11 year old car.  Luckily around the same time the Center for Energy and Environment signed up for a nonprofit membership with local car-sharing service HOURCAR, so all I had to do was apply online and I was in!

It’s been a few weeks since I was approved and received my fob in the mail, but it was only a few days ago that I got the chance to use HOURCAR myself.  And I have to say that the experience so far has been totally awesome.  There in a HOURCAR just a five minute walk from our office, so I just moseyed down the street and let myself in with the fob.

Once I got to the little white Toyota Yaris hatchback, I realized what my only hurtle would be – driving a car that isn’t mine!  After spending three years driving only my beat-up Honda, getting into a newer car was weird. It took me a few minutes to settle in and figure out the mirrors and where the speedometer was located, but once I got going I felt great!

I’m not ready for a totally car-free existence yet – I like the freedom of owning my own car, taking long road trips and visiting friends in other states.  However, it’s insanely ideal for me to take a nice bus ride to work in the morning, use HOURCAR for errands and meetings, and save my car some wear, tear and mileage.  Especially when my company provides the service!  I definitely recommend looking into HOURCAR, both for business and personal use.  Treat yourself!

:: HOURCAR

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 5 March 2010 2:02 pm

    Thanks for driving, Neely. Of course, now that winter parking restrictions are lifted, are you going to keep biking / busing to work and driving with us? It’s not like parking in Uptown is all that easy :)

  2. 7 March 2010 10:01 pm

    Oh, I’m hooked now. I love leaving my car at home!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

